FAQ       Directors       Community Plan Advisory Board       Staff       Conduct & Governance


Lincoln Health Foundation is a non-profit foundation operating in Lincoln Parish, Louisiana. It was incorporated under the non-profit laws of the State of Louisiana on July 18, 1996. Its stated purpose is found in Article 6 of its Articles of Incorporation. Part of that purpose is to use its present assets to "improve health care and outcomes for residents of the area historically served by Lincoln Health System, Inc., d/b/a Lincoln General Hospital, in accordance with Louisiana law applicable to the use of proceeds from the sale of non-profit hospitals."
The roots of Lincoln Health Foundation extend to the formation of Lincoln General Hospital, Inc. on January 16, 1962. Lincoln General Hospital, Inc. was also formed as a non-profit corporation and, under an arrangement with the Lincoln Parish Police Jury, operated a hospital ("Hospital") owned by the Lincoln Parish Police Jury and located in Ruston, Louisiana. The Hospital was operated under the trade name, "Lincoln General Hospital." Lincoln General Hospital operated the Hospital from its formation in 1962 until the Lincoln Parish Police Jury, pursuant to an affirmative vote of the voters of Lincoln Parish, sold the hospital to Lincoln Health System on December 31, 1996.
Lincoln Health Foundation was incorporated on July 18, 1996, as a non-profit corporation domiciled in Lincoln Parish. Its first Directors were:
1) Wilburt Ellis
2) Dan Hollingsworth
3) John Buske
4) Wayne Parke;
5) Paul Hogan
6) Ted W. McKinney
These were all former directors of Lincoln General Hospital, Inc. On July 18, 1996, the same date of its incorporation, Lincoln Health Foundation, together with Willis-Knighton Medical Center in Shreveport, St-Francis Hospital in Monroe and Glenwood Regional Medical Center in West Monroe formed "Lincoln Health System, Inc.," a Delaware non-profit corporation. Lincoln Health Foundation acquired a 60% ownership interest in Lincoln Health System. All of Lincoln Health Foundation's Directors acquired positions as members of the 10-member Lincoln Health System Board of Directors. On December 31, 1996, Lincoln Health System acquired all of the assets of Lincoln General Hospital, Inc. by means of merger. Lincoln Health System also acquired the trade name, "Lincoln General Hospital," and continued to operate the Hospital under that trade name until it sold the hospital to Ruston, Louisiana Hospital Company on April 1, 2007, for $36,000,000.00. Ruston, Louisiana Hospital Company, LLC continues to operate the Hospital, but now under the trade name, "North Louisiana Medical Center."
Subsequent to the sale of the Hospital, the Shareholders of Lincoln Health System, Inc. voted to liquidate the Corporation. Lincoln Health System, Inc. is currently in liquidation with Lincoln Health Foundation as its largest Shareholder. As such, Lincoln Health Foundation receives periodic distributions of proceeds from the sale of the Hospital. These proceeds, combined with income from other sources, provide funding for the community projects undertaken by Lincoln Health Foundation as part of fulfilling its purpose as stated in its Articles of Incorporation.

305 S Vienna St.
Ruston, LA 71270


Our Mission is...
to improve health care and outcomes for residents of Lincoln Parish.
Our Vision is...
to facilitate health-related initiatives, programs, and services that improve the quality of life for the residents of Lincoln Parish.


Quick Links

Meet Our Board of Directors

Back to Top

Mark Taylor, President

Mr. Taylor was elected as the Foundation's President on October 1, 2018. He joined the Foundation in 2015 and served as a member of the Finance Committee. He is Sr. Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Bank of Ruston and Century Financial Corporation.

Wilbert Ellis, Vice Chair

Mr. Wilbert Ellis serves as vice-president of Lincoln Health Foundation. He retired from Grambling State University after 43 years where he served in various capacities including Athletics Director, Head Baseball Coach, Dean of Men and Counselor. Mr. Ellis has served as a board member of numerous organizations including Lincoln General Hospital, American Baseball Coaches Association, and is the president of the Friends of Eddie G. Robinson Museum. He is actively involved in numerous other civic and community organizations.

James Davison, Secretary / Treasurer

Mr. James Davison serves as the secretary-treasurer of Lincoln Health Foundation. He is the former President and CEO of Davison Transport, Inc., and Davison Petroleum Products, both of which were sold to Genesis Energy, L.P., in 2007. Mr. Davison remains a substantial stockholder in Genesis Energy, L.P. He is actively involved on the Board of Directors of several organizations and is a member of several local foundations.

Sonya Cardwell

Mrs. Cardwell is employed as a school nurse for Lincoln Parish Schools. She served as a member of the Lincoln Health Foundation's Community Plan Advisory Board where she participated in the formation of the Foundation's strategic plan. She serves as member of the Foundation's Grants Review Committee and is a primary resource involving the Foundation's school-based health care initiatives.

Marvin Green, M.D.

Dr. Marvin Green joined the Foundation board of directors in October, 2018. Before his retirement in 2004, Dr. Green practiced general and vascular surgery at Green Clinic in Ruston, LA for 38 years. He is a lifetime resident of Ruston and serves as a member on the Foundation's Grants Review Committee.

Eldred Hardison

Mr. Hardison joined the Foundation board of directors in December, 2018. He has served as a law enforcement officer for most of his career, and currently serves as the Community Liason Officer for the Lincoln Parish Sheriff's Office. He is a very active member of numerous organization boards. He is also a member of the Foundation's Grants Review Committee.

Jo Tatum

Jo Tatum rejoins the Board as a Director in 2018 serving as the Lincoln Police Jury board membership appointee. Jo served on the original Lincoln Health Foundation Board from 2010 to 2015 as the appointee of Lincoln Parish Schools. She served as a school nurse for Lincoln Parish School throughout her career and is a member of the Foundation's Grants Review Committee.

Nancy Smith, M.D.

Dr. Smith joined the Foundation in 2013 and served as President from 2016 until September 30, 2018. She is an active member of the medical staff at Northern Louisiana Medical Center where she serves as the Medical Director of the Clinical Laboratory and the hospital Quality Program. She is also a member of the board of directors of LifeShare Blood Centers.

Willie Washington

Mr. Washington served as the Title 1 supervisor at Lincoln Parish Schools until his retirement in 2017. He serves as a member of the Foundation's Grants Review Committee.

Back to Top

Community Plan Advisory Board

Sonja Cardwell, RN
Lincoln Parish School Board

Ben Haley, MD
Chair, Retired Anesthesiologist Lincoln Health Foundation

Willie Hendricks,
Mayor Village of Simsboro

Allen Herbert, MD
Internal Medicine, NLMC Lincoln Health Foundation

Hazel Hunter
Lincoln Parish Police Jury

Cathy Judd
Lincoln Parish LSU Ag Center

David McGehee, MD
Pediatrician, Green Clinic

Mary Murimi, PhD
Nutrition, Louisiana Tech University

Shirley Reagan, PhD
Lincoln Health Foundation

Kathleen Richard
Life Choices

Jo Tatum, RN
Lincoln Health Foundation

LaNell Washington, RN
Lincoln Parish Health Unit

Sandy Allen
Family Counseling Center
Methodist Children's Home

Stephen Turpin, DDS

Back to Top


Norman L. Hanes
Chief Executive Officer


Back to Top

Ethical Conduct & Governance

Conflict of Interest Policy (PDF)

Staff Code of Ethics and Conduct (PDF)

Whistleblower Policy (PDF)

Back to Top